Piaget Polo: rebirth of the legendary 80’s watch

Piaget House, celebrating its 150th anniversary, rekindles the passion of watch enthusiasts with the reissue of its mythical 80s timepiece, the Piaget Polo 79.

 

To celebrate its 150th anniversary, Piaget is reviving its iconic model. In early February, Piaget announced the reedition of the Piaget Polo, originally released in 1979, now slightly revised with the new Piaget Polo 79.

 

The “bracelet-watch” remains almost unchanged, maintaining a complete integration of solid gold between the bracelet and the dial, thus totaling 18 carats just like the original version. An ultra-thin automatic caliber 1200P1 replaces the 7P, a ultra-thin quartz movement that was at the forefront of innovation in 1979.

 

The Piaget Polo 79 consists of 200 grams of gold whereas the first version of the watch was forged in 125 grams of solid gold. This mixed-gender and sporty model had established itself at the time as a symbol of the modern elite of the 80s.

 

A Sporty Watch

 

To continue reading this article, create a free account or log in.

Create your free account

I create my account

Don’t miss out on the latest luxury business news.

 

Read also> MIAMI WATCH WEEK: LVMH GATHERS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL WATCHES FROM ITS HOUSES

Cover Photo: ©Piaget

 

Picture of Lhou Lagrange
Lhou Lagrange
Curious and dynamic, Lhou Lagrange is constantly in search of new adventures. She is primarily interested in new technologies, social sciences, and geopolitics to decipher societal trends and stay agile. With a versatile soul, she combines her knowledge and skills to serve her young pen.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up now to receive sneak previews of our programs and articles!

Launch offer:

Your participation in the Camille Fournet Masterclass reserved for annual subscriber !

Luxus Plus Newsletter

Piaget Polo : renaissance de la montre mythique des 80’s

La Maison Piaget, qui fête ses 150 ans, ravive la flamme des amateurs d’horlogerie avec la réédition de son garde-temps mythique des années 80, la Piaget Polo 79.

 

Pour célébrer ses 150 ans, Piaget fait revivre son modèle iconique. Début février, Piaget a annoncé la réédition de la Piaget Polo, sortie en 1979, légèrement revisitée avec la nouvelle Piaget Polo 79.

 

Le “bracelet-montre” demeure presque inchangé, conservant une intégration complète de l’or massif entre le bracelet et le cadran, totalisant ainsi 18 carats au même titre que la version originelle. Un calibre automatique extra-plat 1200P1 remplace le 7P, un mouvement ultra-plat à quartz qui était à la pointe de l’innovation en 1979. 

 

La Piaget Polo 79 est constituée de 200 grammes d’or tandis que la première version de la montre était forgée dans 125 grammes d’or massif. Ce modèle mixte et sportif s’était imposé à l’époque, comme  un symbole de l’élite moderne des années 80.

 

Une montre sportive 

 

Pour continuer à lire cet article, créez un compte gratuit ou connectez-vous

Créez votre compte gratuitement

Je crée mon compte

Ne manquez plus rien de l’actualité économique du luxe.
Luxus+ Abonnement Digital

 

Lire aussi> MIAMI WATCH WEEK : LVMH RASSEMBLE LES PLUS BELLES MONTRES DE SES MAISONS

Photo à la Une : ©Piaget

 

Lhou Lagrange
Lhou Lagrange
Curieuse et dynamique, Lhou Lagrange est constamment à la recherche de nouvelles aventures. Elle s’intéresse principalement aux nouvelles technologies, aux sciences sociales et à la géopolitique pour décrypter les tendances sociétales et rester agile. D’une âme polyvalente, elle combine ses connaissances et ses compétences pour servir sa jeune plume.

Inscription à notre Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous maintenant pour recevoir nos émissions et articles en avant-première !

Offre de lancement:

Votre participation à la Masterclass Camille Fournet réservée aux abonnés annuels !

Newletter Luxus Plus