The local customer at the heart of the luxury rebound

The year 2020 is almost over, and luxury will have once again shown great resilience: the LVMH share price was at an all-time high of €439 in January 2020. It is now close to €500. In November 2020, the Kering share price had caught up to its all-time high of January 2020. Hermès, at €830 in November, far surpassed its last record of €725 in January 2020.

 

For investors, it is clear: “in Luxury we trust!”. It is expected that the “luxury product” market will return to the €280 billion level reached in 2019 by 2022.

 

But if we look beyond the soaring stock market prices, we realize a much more complex reality. In product luxury, there are different universes: accessories, fashion, beauty, perfumes, watches, jewelry, … – themselves worn by very different houses: a leader worn by a cash-rich group and a family house short on cash have not experienced the Covid in the same way.

 

And if we add to this a variety of subjects as varied as the presence in China, the share of wholesale in distribution, customer culture or digital efficiency, the gap is widening very sharply between those who have emerged victorious from the crisis and those who are facing the wall. Not everyone is LVMH, Kering or Hermes, and even within these groups, the realities of the Houses are sometimes very different – and the trees of the winners should not hide the forest of those who emerge weakened from the crisis.

 

Thus, for luxury, the model for the recovery is K-shaped. Why the K? The vertical bar symbolizes the wall taken by the brands in March. The upward slant is the trajectory of the winners: rapid recovery of turnover. The oblique down is the trajectory of the losers: difficulty to hang up the cars, or even stalling.

 

In our publications in April 2020, we indicated that those who were already powerful, strong in China, strong in digital, agile, and close to their customers would be the winners – they were often the same, and we have to admit that they are doing rather well.

 

This remains true, especially in the medium term. But with hindsight, it seems to us that if there was one miracle ingredient to weather the storm, it was the ability to quickly win back local customers.

 

The world of luxury, so global, has become incredibly regionalized with the disappearance of tourists. In Europe the loss of activity exceeds 40%, in Japan and the US it is around 25%… while China will grow by more than 50%, with its tourists staying at home.

 

And within these markets, the cessation of domestic travel has reproduced the phenomenon on a smaller scale: metropolises are losing their power of attraction and there are fewer domestic tourists to the capitals. Stores, where 80 to 90% of transactions will take place in 2019, are emptying of customers.

 

Faced with this phenomenon, brands are mobilizing around their local and national customers – this is clienteling in the broadest sense: distance selling, in-store events, “off-site” experiences... all subjects that redefine the mission of the boutique and the teams’ KPIs.

 

The complexity of implementing these different subjects is real.

 

Complexity to reach customers remotely: either by lack of customer knowledge, or by lack of data for the most wholesale models, or by lack of digital link. This is an asset for those with a strong network of their own, even if L’Oréal has demonstrated the value of a strong digital strategy, which has enabled it to perform very well despite a wholesale model.

 

Technical complexity: rapidly deploying tools that allow a store salesperson to call customers, process them remotely, in video, manage payment while feeding the CRM requires real agility. The general manager of a prestigious jewelry brand recently explained to us that it was a real challenge for her group and her brand to deploy the right tool at the right pace in the network. This is certainly a subject on which LVMH and Kering stood out.

 

See Also

Human complexity: training and motivating salespeople to adopt new behaviors and new sales methods requires a significant capacity for conviction and mobilization. Not always simple from a distance! Commitment is an essential subject, and an investment that is more necessary than ever.

 

Organizational complexity: the local customer is certainly the one of the stores, but it is also the one of e-commerce. Prospects can be found in site visitors as well as in content “likers” on social networks. How to access them? How to ensure that information circulates efficiently and feeds every opportunity to reach these valuable contacts? How to make sure that each entity finds its interest in it? A very large fashion brand told us that by 2021 store managers would have access to the list of e-commerce customers – a much more complicated exercise than it seems – but what are the rules of attribution, for example, when you have 5 stores in the same city?

 

In its multiple challenges, the real complexity will undoubtedly be cultural: this focus on the local customer requires a change of mindset, to finally become truly customer-centric.

 

What does this mean? In the new regionalized and omni-channel world, it means that the whole way of looking at things must change. The revenue growth objective in luxury was generally to optimize revenue/m2, by maximizing traffic, conversion rate and average basket. Sales were tracked by product line or category.

 

The new paradigm of customer-centricity must lead to consider a new equation: what if revenue growth now translated into 1) growth of the customer base and 2) maximization of revenue per customer? This new way of looking at things would make it possible, for example, to track indicators that are not: the brand’s ability to build customer loyalty, to develop them, to reach this or that category of customers (GenZ, to rejuvenate or premiumize its customer base, etc.) and to move from a product-oriented logic (performance of this or that category, sell through) to a fully customer-oriented logic.

 

Read also > SAINT LAURENT DIVERTS THE CODES OF TRADITIONAL PARADES A SECOND TIME IN ITS FIRST OFF-CALENDAR PARADE

 

Featured Photo : © Dubai Mall

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0

COPYRIGHT 2021 LUXUS + ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Scroll To Top

Vous lisez en ce moment
Le client local au cœur du rebond du luxe

Le client local au cœur du rebond du luxe

L’année 2020 est presque terminée, et le luxe aura montré, une fois de plus, une très grande résilience : le cours de l’action LVMH était à son plus haut historique en janvier 2020 à 439 €. Il est maintenant à près de 500 €. Celui de l’action Kering avait rattrapé en novembre 2020 son plus haut historique de janvier 2020. Hermès, à 830 € en novembre, a largement dépassé son dernier record de 725€ en janvier 2020.

 

Pour les investisseurs, c’est clair : « in Luxury we trust ! ». Il est d’ailleurs prévu que le marché du « luxe produit » retrouve dès 2022 la taille de 280 Milliards d’Euros atteinte en 2019.

 

Mais en regardant au-delà de l’envolée des cours de bourse, on se rend compte d’une réalité bien plus complexe. Dans le luxe produit, il y a des univers différents : accessoires, mode, beauté, parfums, montres, joaillerie,… – eux-mêmes portés par des maisons très différentes entre elles : un leader porté par un groupe riche en cash et une maison familiale courte en trésorerie n’ont pas vécu le Covid de la même manière.

 

Et si l’on y ajoute pêle-mêle des sujets aussi variés que la présence en Chine, la part de wholesale dans la distribution, la culture client ou l’efficacité digitale, le fossé se creuse de manière très forte entre ceux qui sortent vainqueurs de la crise, et ceux qui sont au pied du mur. Tous ne sont pas LVMH, Kering ou Hermès, et d’ailleurs, même à l’intérieur de ces groupes, les réalités des Maisons sont parfois très différentes – et les arbres des vainqueurs ne devraient pas cacher la forêt de ceux qui ressortent affaiblis de la crise.

 

C’est ainsi que pour le luxe, le modèle de la reprise est en K. Pourquoi le K ? La barre verticale symbolise le mur pris par les marques en Mars. L’oblique vers le haut est la trajectoire des vainqueurs : reprise rapide de chiffre d’affaires. L’oblique vers le bas est la trajectoire des perdants : peine à raccrocher les wagons, voire décrochage.

 

Lors de nos publications en avril 2020, nous indiquions que ceux qui étaient déjà puissants, forts en Chine, forts en digital, agiles et au plus près de leurs clients seraient les vainqueurs – c’était d’ailleurs souvent les mêmes, et force est de reconnaître qu’ils s’en sortent plutôt bien.

 

Cela reste vrai, notamment à moyen terme. Mais avec le recul, il nous semble que s’il y a eu un ingrédient miracle pour affronter la tempête, cela aura été la capacité à reconquérir rapidement les clients locaux.

 

Le monde du luxe, si global, s’est incroyablement régionalisé avec la disparition des touristes. En Europe la perte d’activité dépasse les 40%, au Japon et aux US elle est d’environ 25%… alors que la Chine va croitre de plus de 50%, forte de ses touristes restés à domicile.

 

Et à l’intérieur de ces marchés, l’arrêt des voyages domestiques a reproduit le phénomène à une échelle inférieure : les métropoles perdent de leur pouvoir d’attraction et il y a moins de touristes domestiques vers les capitales. Les boutiques, lieux de 80 à 90% des transactions en 2019, se vident de clients.

 

Face à ce phénomène, les marques se mobilisent autour de ses clients locaux et nationaux – c’est le clienteling au sens large : ventes à distance, évènements en boutique, expériences « hors les murs »… autant de sujets qui redéfinissent la mission de la boutique et les KPIs des équipes.

 

La complexité de mise en œuvre de ces différents sujets est réelle. Complexité à toucher les clients à distance : soit par manque de connaissance client, soit par absence de données pour les modèles les plus wholesale, soit par absence de lien digital. C’est un atout pour ceux qui ont un fort réseau en propre, même si l’Oréal a démontré la valeur d’une forte stratégie digitale, qui lui a permis d’excellentes performances malgré un modèle wholesale.

 

Complexité technique : déployer rapidement des outils qui permettent au vendeur d’une boutique d’appeler les clients, de les traiter à distance, en vidéo, de gérer le paiement tout en nourrissant le CRM nécessite une agilité réelle. La directrice générale d’une marque de joaillerie pourtant prestigieuse nous expliquait récemment que c’était un vrai défi pour son groupe et pour sa marque de déployer le bon outil au bon rythme dans le réseau. C’est certainement un sujet sur lesquels LVMH et Kering se sont démarqués.

 

Complexité humaine : former et motiver des vendeurs à adopter de nouveaux comportements et de nouvelles méthodes de vente nécessite une capacité de conviction et de mobilisation importante. Pas toujours simple à distance ! L’engagement est un sujet essentiel, et un investissement plus que jamais nécessaire.

Voir aussi

 

Complexité organisationnelle : le client local est certes celui des boutiques, mais c’est aussi celui de l’e-commerce. Les prospects se trouvent aussi bien dans les visiteurs du site que dans les « likers » de contenu sur les réseaux sociaux. Comment y accéder ? Comment assurer que les informations circulent efficacement et viennent nourrir toutes les opportunités de toucher ces précieux contacts ? Comment faire pour que chaque entité y trouve son intérêt ? Une très grande marque de fashion nous disait que dès 2021 les directeurs de boutiques auraient accès à la liste des clients d’e-commerce – un exercice bien plus compliqué qu’il n’y paraît – mais quelles règles d’attribution, par exemple, quand on a 5 boutiques dans la même ville ?

 

Dans ses multiples défis, la véritable complexité sera sans doute d’ordre culturelle : ce focus sur le client local nécessite un changement d’état d’esprit, pour devenir enfin vraiment client-centric.

 

Qu’est-ce que cela veut dire ? Dans le nouveau monde régionalisé et omni-channel, c’est le regard entier qui doit changer. L’objectif de croissance du chiffre d’affaires dans le luxe était généralement d’optimiser le chiffre d’affaires/m2, en maximisant trafic, taux de conversion et panier moyen. Les ventes étaient suivies par lignes ou catégories de produits.

 

Le nouveau paradigme de la client-centricity doit amener à considérer une nouvelle équation : et si la croissance du chiffre d’affaires se traduisait maintenant par 1) la croissance de la base de clients et 2) la maximisation du chiffre d’affaires par client ? Ce regard, nouveau, permettrait par exemple de suivre des indicateurs qui ne le sont pas : la capacité de la marque à fidéliser ses clients, à les développer, à toucher telle ou telle catégorie de clients (GenZ, à rajeunir ou premiumiser sa clientèle…) et de passer d’une logique orientée produit (performance de telle ou telle catégorie, sell through) à une logique pleinement client.

 

Lire aussi > SAINT LAURENT DÉTOURNE UNE SECONDE FOIS LES CODES DES DÉFILÉS TRADITIONNELS DANS SON PREMIER DÉFILÉ HORS CALENDRIER 

 

Photo à la Une : © Dubai Mall

Comment avez vous trouvez l'article ?
Excited
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0

COPYRIGHT 2021 LUXUS + ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Revenir en haut