Charles de Vilmorin launches its ready-to-wear line

After a two-year stint as artistic director of Maison de Couture Rochas, the 26-year-old designer is launching his own ready-to-wear label. The first 25 pieces will be unveiled this fall at the SPHERE showroom at Paris Fashion Week.

 

After just two years with Rochas Haute Couture, from 2021 to 2023, Charles de Vilmorin is launching his own ready-to-wear label.

WWD has just revealed that the 26-year-old fashion prodigy will present a first collection under his own name this autumn at the Sphere showroom, set up by the Fédération de la Haute Couture et de la Mode (FHCM) during Paris Fashion Week.

 

25 pieces inspired by a George Sand poem

 

Did her illustrious aunt and writer, Louise de Vilmorin, inspire the idea? The 25 pieces in this first line are inspired by a double-entendre poem by George Sand. Serious and romantic if you read it in its entirety, it becomes very naughty when you skip every other line…

After delivering a rather unisex vision of fashion at Rochas, Charles de Vilmorin has come up with pared-down pieces, some likely to appeal to women but also to daring men. In addition to three dresses, the line will include denim shorts, shirts, printed scarves, a trench coat and new versions of the famous bomber jacket that put the designer in the spotlight.

All will be made in “beautiful, natural, noble materials rather than adding ruffles and volume“, the designer told WWD. Silk, silk taffeta and cottons, including Supima poplin and denim, will dominate the menu.

In subsequent seasons, the designer also plans to offer knitwear and accessories such as shoes.

Prices will range from 500 euros for a printed cotton shirt to around 2,000 euros for a trench coat.

 

Solo debut

 



To continue reading this article, subscribe or log in to your account

Discover our plans

Subscribe for 1€

Become an active member of the community of luxury leaders.

Luxus+ Abonnement Digital + Papier

Read also > Alessandro Vigilante succeeds Charles de Vilmorin as Artistic Director of Rochas – Luxus Plus (luxus-plus.com)

Featured photo : © Charles de Vilmorin

Sophie Michentef
Sophie Michentef
Sophie Michentef has worked for more than 30 years in the professional press. For fifteen years, she managed the French and international editorial staff of the Journal du Textile. She now puts her press, textile, fashion, and luxury expertise at the service of newspapers, professional organizations, and companies.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up now to receive sneak previews of our programs and articles!

Launch offer:

Your participation in the Camille Fournet Masterclass reserved for annual subscriber !

Luxus Plus Newsletter

Charles de Vilmorin lance son prêt-à-porter

Le créateur de 26 ans, après un passage de deux ans à la direction artistique de la Maison de Couture Rochas, lance sa propre marque de prêt-à-porter. Les 25 premières pièces seront dévoilées cet automne au showroom SPHERE de la Fashion Week de Paris.

 

Après deux ans seulement passés au service de la Haute Couture de Rochas, de 2021 à 2023, Charles de Vilmorin lance sa propre marque de prêt-à-porter.

WWD vient de le révéler : le jeune prodige de la mode, âgé de 26 ans, va présenter sous son nom une première collection cet automne au showroom Sphere, mis en place par la Fédération de la Haute Couture et de la Mode (FHCM) lors de la Fashion Week de Paris.

25 pièces inspirées par un poème de George Sand

 

Son illustre ailleule écrivain et grande tante, Louise de Vilmorin, lui a-t-elle soufflé l’idée ? Les 25 pièces de cette première ligne sont inspirées d’un poème à double sens de George Sand. Sérieux et romantique si on le lit dans sa totalité, il devient très coquin quand on saute une ligne sur deux…

Après avoir délivré chez Rochas une vision plutôt unisexe de la mode, Charles de Vilmorin a imaginé des pièces épurées, certaines susceptibles de plaire aux femmes mais aussi à des hommes audacieux. Outre trois robes, la ligne comprendra des shorts en denim, des chemises, des foulards imprimés, un trench-coat et de nouvelles déclinaisons du fameux blouson bombardier qui avait placé le créateur sous les feux de la rampe.

Le tout sera réalisé dans de « belles matières naturelles et nobles plutôt que d’ajouter des volants et des volumes » a confié le créateur à WWD. Au menu, domineront la soie, le taffetas de soie et les cotons, notamment les popelines et denims de Supima.

Lors des saisons suivantes, le créateur envisage de proposer aussi des modèles en maille et des accessoires comme les chaussures.

Les prix iront de 500 euros pour une chemise en coton imprimé à environ 2 000 euros pour un trench-coat.

Premiers pas en solo

 



Pour continuer à lire cet article, abonnez-vous ou connectez-vous à votre espace abonné

Découvrez nos offres

Je m'abonne pour 1€

Devenez un membre actif de la communauté des leaders du luxe.


Lire aussi > Alessandro Vigilante succède à Charles de Vilmorin à la direction artistique de la Maison Rochas – Luxus Plus (luxus-plus.com)

Photos à la Une : © Charles de Vilmorin

Picture of Sophie Michentef
Sophie Michentef
Sophie Michentef a évolué plus de 30 ans dans la presse professionnelle. Pendant une quinzaine d’années, elle a encadré la rédaction France et international du Journal du Textile. Elle met désormais son expertise presse, textile, mode et luxe au service de journaux, organisations professionnelles et entreprises.

Inscription à notre Newsletter

Inscrivez-vous maintenant pour recevoir nos émissions et articles en avant-première !

Offre de lancement:

Votre participation à la Masterclass Camille Fournet réservée aux abonnés annuels !

Newletter Luxus Plus