Now Reading
International Woolmark Prize 2021 : The call for candidates is launched !

International Woolmark Prize 2021 : The call for candidates is launched !

One month after the end of the 2020 edition of the International Woolmark Prize, Woolmark is already looking for new fashion stars capable of following in the footsteps of Richard Malone, Edward Crutchley and Teatum Jones.


This prestigious talent program invites emerging designers “who are looking to shape a positive future for the fashion industry” to apply on the website to participate in its 2021 edition.


All applications will be reviewed by a Council of industry experts. To apply, designers must have produced clothing sold for at least 2 years and at most 8 years, when submitting an application.


In addition, the rules state that the designer must have “consistent experience” in collaborating and promoting best practices across textile supply chains, showing annual sales growth and demonstrating innovative use of fabrics and materials.


Woolmark said in a statement that the council is looking for designers in the “early stages” of their careers who “have shown great dedication in growing a sustainable business.”


In total, ten finalists will receive personalized support for 18 months at the Woolmark Academy of Innovation.


On the program : training and tutoring in diverse fields of activity, such as business development, research, product development or the implementation of sustainable strategies.


They will also receive a grant of 70,000 Australian dollars (around 39,000 euros) to develop a capsule collection which will be presented at the closing gala of the promotion in early 2021.


The International Woolmark Prize will reward its winner with an endowment of 200,000 Australian dollars (approximately 111,000 euros). The second winner, crowned with the Karl Lagerfeld Prize for innovation, will receive 100,000 Australian dollars (around 55,500 euros).


All the winners and finalists will have the opportunity to sell their capsule collections in the most beautiful shops in the world, physical and digital, and in renowned luxury stores such as David Jones, Harvey Nichols and

See Also


According to Stuart McCullough, executive director of The Woolmark Company: “Innovation and creativity can take very different forms and we also know that talent is not conditioned by geographic or cultural boundaries.”


He then added : “By offering an online selection process, we are opening the International Woolmark Prize to creators all around the world.”


Recall that the final of the Woolmark Prize 2020 took place during London Fashion Week. Irish designer Richard Malone won this edition.


Read also > Gainerie 91 Design competition : registration deadline postponed to April 30, 2020


Featured Photo : © International Woolmark Prize

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure


Scroll To Top